Kenyon College

Aftermath Film Series: The Square (2013)

March 28, 2017 7:00pm – 9:00pm


Released in 2013, this Jehane Noujaim film documents the 2011 revolution in Egypt surrounding President Hosni Mubarak’s regime. The documentary follows six protesters in Tahrir Square as they set out to capture the injustice of the Egyptian government and military. Noujaim’s filmic talents did not go unnoticed; The Square won three Emmys for Outstanding Cinematography, Outstanding Directing and Outstanding Picture Editing for Nonfiction Programming, the Audience Award for World Cinema Documentary at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival, and the best feature award from the International Documentary Association.

The Square (2013)

Tuesday, March 28, 7:00 PM

Community Foundation Theater, Gund Gallery

About the Series:

Aftermath seeks to confront the impact of war on populations directly affected by it, and the environments in which they live. The films chosen to depict these realities span various genres and themes. While the documentary film The War You Don’t See complicates the role of the media in the perception of war in the Middle East, alternatively The Square shows a more authentic and local experience of the uprising in Egypt. Persepolis, selected to be part of the Dinner and a Movie series, diverges from these two documentary style films as it is an animated coming of age story that chronicles the experiences of an Iranian girl during the war in the 1970s. All of these films touch on different perceptions of the experience of war by civilian populations.

Aftermath is organized by the Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art at the University of Florida and made possible by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Harn 25th Anniversary Fund, the Florida Division of Cultural Affairs, the Joanne L. and Edward R. Block Charitable Trust, with additional support from the Harn Curator of Photography Endowment.

Gund Gallery exhibitions and public programs are supported, in part, by the Gund Gallery Board of Directors and the Ohio Arts Council.