Kenyon College

Notations: Envisioning New Sound

October 29, 2011–March 4, 2012  [+]

Inspired by the controversial composer John Cage (author of the 1969 work Notations) and by more recent developments in musical notation, composer-musicologist Theresa Sauer collected excerpts from works of music notation by more than 150 composers from around the world. Notations: Envisioning New Sound explores the diverse ways the musical score can be transformed. It challenges us to rethink how sight embodies meaning and how meaning is expressed as sound.


Ge-Suk Yeo
William Hellermann
John Kannenberg
Pozzi Escot
Keren Rosenbaum
Laura Toxvaerd
Brent Lorentzen
Will Redman
Dennis Bathory-Kitsz
Joseph Pignato
Kerry John Andrews
Carl Bergstreom-Neilsen
Kyong-Mee Choi
Chiyoko Szlavnics
Martin Sebastian Loyato
Theresa Sauer
Christoper Reba
Daniel Schnee
Jon Raskin
Hans Christoph-Steiner
Steve Roden
Tony Martin


Notations Preview
Click to view the gallery